top of page

There are many acronyms used in public discourse about matters relevant to Southbank.  These are some of these.

  • ABC: Australian Broadcasting Corporation.  Their Melbourne office and studios are on the south west corner of Sturt St and Southbank Boulevard. The Iwaki Auditorium, off Southbank Boulevard, hosts free concerts on occasional Sundays throughout the year.

  • AGM: Annual General Meeting.  It is held in October each year at the Boyd Community Hub.

  • CoM: City of Melbourne.  The council in which Southbank resides.

  • CoRBA: Coalition of Resident and Business Associations. It represents business and community groups in Melbourne.

  • DELWP: State Government Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning.

  • FMC: Future Melbourne Committee. The FMC is a special committee of the City of Melbourne Council. It oversees the implementation of Council strategies and activities.

  • FOI: Freedom of Information request. An FOI request can be made to the State Government and to the City of Melbourne.

  • MHA: Melbourne Heritage Action. An action group supported by the National Trust.

  • MRC: Melbourne Recital Centre. A concert venue on the south east corner of Sturt St and Southbank Boulevard

  • NGV: National Gallery of Victoria. An Art Gallery on the north east corner of Sturt St and Southbank Boulevard.  This gallery focuses on international art. Their gallery in Federation Square focuses on Australian art.

  • SOCN: Southbank Owners' Corporation Network. A group within SRA.

  • SRA: Southbank Residents Association

  • SSSC: Southbank Safety and Security Committee.  The Committee is chaired by Victoria Police with membership drawn from businesses, buildings and resident groups.

  • VCA: Victorian College of the Arts. A Department of the University of Melbourne.  It is on the west side of St Kilda Rd from Southbank Boulevard to Grant St.

  • VCAT: Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal that hears and decides civil and administrative legal cases in the State of Victoria.

  • YRBA: Yarra River Business Association.

  • YRKA: Yarra River Keeper Association. It is an independent community of citizen-advocates that works solely in the interest of the river.

bottom of page