2019/20 Committee

President: Tony Penna

Vice-President: Marcus de Rijk

Secretary: Richard Drew

Treasurer: Laszlo Kuchurszki

Artemis Pattichi

Ciaran Ashe

Clair Richards

Dan O'Keeffe

Jennifer Fletcher

Joanne Vanselow

Mike Gaertner

Renee Russell

It is with great sadness that we advise of the unexpected passing of Marcus de Rijk.  Marcus sadly passed away after a tragic accident.  Deeply committed to the community, Marcus had been a committee member and office bearer for three years.  His kind, gentle and diplomatic nature made him a much-loved member of our committee and our community.

A talented musician, Marcus was a valued member of the Rats of Tobruk Memorial Pipes & Drums band. We were fortunate to enjoy his drumming earlier this year and were honoured to share his performance of Amazing Grace from his balcony on ANZAC Day in full uniform.  You might also remember his feature as Southbanker in the May edition of Southbank Local News.


As a member of the RMIT community, Marcus worked in learning systems and championed diversity and inclusion in work practices.

Marcus and his wife Claire are due to have their first baby in July. We send our sincerest condolences to Claire and the rest of Marcus' family and friends during this incredibly difficult time.

Marcus' passing is an immeasurable loss to our community and he will be profoundly missed.

Contact us:

Email: info@southbankresidents.com.au


The Boyd, 207 City Rd, Southbank Vic


Find us on:

Supported through a community grant from